It was a lovely spring evening for the return of an in-person Balerno Rigg Race – the first since 2019, after the cancellation of 2020’s race, and the virtual race of 2021. A total of 155 runners took to the field, including the usual excellent array of fancy dress entrants.

An incredible performance by Iain Hutchinson saw him take 1st place in a superb time of 33m 33s, with Alex Luetchford and Euan Crawford pushing him all the way.
For the ladies, Hazel MacCormick followed up her 2019 win with a 37m 56s finish, followed by Chiara Franzosi and Kerry Costello.
For the Club section, a huge Hunters Bog Trotters contingent delivered a number of impressive performances, finishing 2nd, 3rd and 4th in the men’s race, ensuring a fine win of the club trophy for HBT.
The list of winners for the Open, Local, and Fancy dress are below. Full results are here –
Once again the atmosphere at the event was warm and friendly – marshalling with a smile provided by the volunteers of the Balerno Gala Committee and Harmeny Athletic Club ensuring everyone had a good time.
A big thanks to the sponsors – The Balerno Inn, Scotmid, Appin Sports and for their support.
Lots of photos from the Rigg Race are here –
Open Category
1st Club Team – HBT
1st Female – Hazel MacCormick (Edinburgh AC)
2nd Female – Chiara Franzosi
3rd Female – Kerry Costello
1st Male – Iain Hutchison (Corstorphine)
2nd Male – Alex Luetchford (HBT)
3rd Male – Euan Crawford (HBT)
1st V40 Female – Shona Gettinby
1st V50 Female – Nicky Freedmen (Harmeny)
1st V60 Female – Isobel Burnett (Carnegie)
1st V70 Female – Pat Hampton (Harmeny)
1st V40 Male – Dave Ward (HBT)
1st V50 Male – Gerry Timoney (Penicuk Harriers)
1st V60 Male – John Hynd (Carnegie)
1st V70 Male – Gerry Clement (Ferranti AAC)
Local Only Category
1st Local Male – Lindsay Cockburn (Harmeny)
1st Local Female – Claire-Jayne Seller (Harmeny)
Fancy Dress 
Fastest Fancy Dress – Danny Wilcox/Rory Mitchell